Blogging as a Vehicle for Global Inquiry (#globalclassroom Chats – July 2012)

To Blog, or NOT to Blog … THAT is the question:

How a Classroom Blog Can Enrich Your Global Citizenship Inquiries?

Creative Commons WoodleyWonderworks

The question for this month’s #globalclassroom chat comes to us courtesy of Laurie Renton, who teaches Grade Three in Alberta, Canada. (@RentonL)

Global Citizenship opportunities are abundant in our connected world.  Our mandated curricula contains countless valuable citizenship “learner outcomes” woven in and through various subject areas. Rich with potential for meaningful global connections and inquiry … they are ripe and waiting for development.

Skype is a wonderful way of getting global connections started.  There is something magical about connecting students with other classrooms and experts beyond their “classroom walls”.  This experience can offer our students the chance to learn more about the communities and concepts they are required to learn about in a far more robust and personalized manner than simply exploring a textbook or conducting google searches.

So … how can we FURTHER engage our students in this work?  What is the next logical step?  Blogging can be a natural extension of your inquiry.


Blogging is a valuable tool because it allows students to:

  • reflect upon and share their discoveries with a global audience
  • explore and wonder about questions and big ideas
  • write authentically and publish to a global audience
  • create dialogue with a global audience
  • connect in a meaningful and personalized way with the curriculum
  • educate others and spread awareness
  • enhance their communication skills
  • further develop digital citizenship and online safety skills in an authentic context
  • explore multiple modes of expression

What do you think?

  • How can a classroom blog deepen your global citizenship inquiry?
  • How will students write? Large group, small group, individually?
  • How do you keep up with all the comments left on your blog?
  • How do you develop a “voice” as bloggers?
  • How do you find the time to post regularly?
  • What other skills can students discover, beyond writing, while they blog?
  • What tools do students enjoy and follow closely on their blog?
  • How do you fit everything else into your day in order to meet other curricular demands?


Please join us for our July chat.  The sharing and learning that comes from these discussions enriches our practice and the learning experiences of our students!  

Check below for the time that best fits with your time zone:

Schedule

Saturday, July 14 – USA, Europe, Africa (17:00 – 18:00 GMT)

  • New York: 1PM (13:00), London: 6PM (18:00), Cape Town: 7PM (19:00), Bucharest: 8PM (20:00)
  • Or click here to find out when this chat runs in your timezone.

Sunday, July 15 – Asia / Europe ( 9:00 – 10:00 GMT)

  • London: 10AM (10:00), Singapore: 5PM (17:00), Tokyo: 6PM (18:00), Sydney: 7PM (19:00), Wellington: 9PM (21:00)
  • Or click here to find out when this chat runs in your timezone.

Monday / Tuesday July 16/17 (22:00 – 23:00 GMT)

  • MONDAY New York: 6PM (18:00), London: 11PM (23:00)
  • TUESDAY Hong Kong: 6AM (06:00), Sydney: 8AM (08:00), Auckland: 10AM (10:00)
  • OR click here to find out when this chat runs in your timezone.


Advertisements

One thought on “Blogging as a Vehicle for Global Inquiry (#globalclassroom Chats – July 2012)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s