Global Communication Tools – August #globalclassroom Chat

By Dr Julius Neubronner [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

The August #globalclassroom chats are upon us, and this month’s question and discussion post comes to us courtesy of Mark Otter, Chief Academic Officer at VIF International Education. (@markjotter).

Global Communication Tools: the importance of, and sources for, connecting beyond your classroom.

Life in the global village creates exciting opportunities for teaching and learning. Instead of reading about the daily lives of young people in Bogotá, Colombia, today’s learners can learn this information firsthand through direct communication with experts and peers living in the country.

Technology available today eliminates the walls of the classroom. The classroom becomes the entire world. Teachers choose how and when to expand their classroom for their students and maximize their learning.

What do you think?

  • Why you think global collaboration is important?
  • How does connecting beyond your classroom spark student engagement and increase student learning of curricular concepts?
  • How have you collaborated globally or locally beyond the classroom?
  • How do you as educators guarantee that as your students connect with others they do so responsibly and efficiently?
  • Often, the first step in taking on such a project is to find a classroom to partner with. How have you found partners?
  • How have you created a social space for students to get to know each other on an informal level?
  • How do you find the time to set up a global collaboration project?
  • How do you deal with issues, such as time zone differences, in your projects?
  • What are some tips and suggestions you have for running a successful global collaboration project with your students?

Please join us for our August chat. The sharing and learning that comes from these discussions enriches our practice and the learning experiences of our students!

Check below for the time that best fits with your zone:

Chat Details – August 2012 *

Chat 1 – Saturday, August 18, 17:00 – 18:00 GMT – N America, S America, Europe, Africa

  • New York: 1pm (13:00), London: 6pm (18:00), Cape Town: 7pm (19:00), Bucharest: 8pm (20:00)
  • Or click here to find out when this chat runs in your timezone.

Chat 2 – Sunday, August 19, 09:00 – 10:00 GMT – Europe, Asia, Australia

  • London: 10am (10:00), Singapore: 5pm (17:00), Perth: 5pm (17:00), Tokyo: 6pm (18:00), Sydney: 7pm (19:00), Wellington: 9pm (21:00)
  • Or click here to find out when this chat runs in your timezone.

Chat 3 – Monday August 20, 22:00 – 23:00 GMT – N America, S America (Tuesday August 21 in Australia and Asia)

  • MONDAY New York: 6pm (18:00), London: 11pm (23:00)
  • TUESDAY Sydney: 8am (08:00), Aukland: 10am (10:00)
  • OR click here to find out when this chat runs in your timezone.

* These chats normally start on the second Saturday of the month (last week). Our apologies for the mix up 🙂

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Global Communication Tools – August #globalclassroom Chat

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s