Global Perspectives in Inquiry – #globalclassroom Chat (November 2012)

This month marks the ONE YEAR anniversary of the #globalclassroom chats. From humble beginnings, these chats have become a major monthly event on the global education calendar, and truly taken on a life of their own.

This month’s chat sees a slew of time changes in response to the start / end of daylight saving in various parts of the world, and an adjustment to the start time of Chat #3 in response to poor attendance over the past few months. We have tried to bring it into a more friendly time for our growing #globalclassroom community in the United Kingdom.


cc licensed ( BY SA ) flickr photo shared by quinn.anya

This month’s topic comes to us courtesy of Aimee Gale (@aimee_gale) in Australia. 

When I was asked by Michael Graffin to submit a question for the next global classroom chat, my thoughts went straight to inquiry. I am very passionate about creating authentic inquiries that help develop the whole student.

I believe it is important that inquiries are developed around rich concepts and essential questions that can inspire a child or an adult. Often one of the hardest elements in developing rich inquiries is making sure that they go further than just a theme. When planning for inquiry units I want them to involve students developing empathy and compassion and a deeper understanding of the world.

To further explore this idea this months #globalclassroom chat topic is:

How can we support students to inquire into global issues that help develop empathy and compassion?

Some of the specific questions we will be exploring include:

  • Why is it important to use inquiry to help develop the whole child?
  • What are some global issues that could be explored through a rich inquiry?
  • How can making global connections help students develop empathy and compassion?
  • Where could teachers find connections that can help their students explore global perspectives?
  • How do you convince your planning team that exploring global perspectives is essential?

Chat Schedule – November 2012

Chat 1 – Saturday, November 10, 17:00 – 18:00 UTC – N America, S America, Europe, Africa

  •  New York: 12pm (noon), London: 5pm (17:00), Cape Town: 7pm (19:00), Bucharest: 7pm (20:00)
  • Or click here to find out when this chat runs in your time-zone.

Chat 2 – Sunday, November 11, 09:00 – 10:00 UTC – Europe, Asia, Australia

  •  London: 9am (9:00), Singapore: 5pm (17:00), Perth: 5pm (17:00), Tokyo: 6pm (18:00), Sydney: 8pm (20:00), Auckland: 10pm (22:00)
  • Or click here to find out when this chat runs in your time-zone.

Chat 3 – Monday November 12, 21:00 – 22:00 UTC – N America, S America / United Kingdom / Tuesday November 13 in Australia & Asia)

  • MONDAY New York: 4pm (16:00), London: 9pm (21:00)
  • TUESDAY Sydney: 8am (08:00), Auckland: 10am (10:00)
  • OR click here to find out when this chat runs in your timezone.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s