KNOCK Those Classroom Walls DOWN!

WAIT a minute … before you take that TOO seriously, PLEASE continue reading. Put that sledge hammer down … we’re not talking demolition … we’re talking global connections! That’s right … you can’t BUILD global connections without FLATTENING those CLASSROOM walls!

There is something SO empowering when students feel personally invested in their learning journey!

There is something SO empowering when students feel personally invested in their learning journey!

This month, our #globalclassroom chat will focus on the POWER of blogging with your students. We are SO fortunate to be teaching in an age when the SKY is the LIMIT with technology. Skype has become a staple in MANY classrooms. No longer are BOOKS our sole way of learning about the world … and, while relying on Google to enrich our inquiries is STILL important, we are NOW able to connect in REAL time with others around the world. This ability to connect synchronously and asynchronously, collaborating with other classes on the other side of the WORLD, has changed our learning FOREVER. We are NO longer just learning ABOUT the world. We are in an age where we are learning WITH the world.

Writing for authentic reasons create magic moments when your students chant "We should BLOG about this!"

Writing for authentic reasons creates MAGIC moments when your students chant “We should BLOG about this!”

Some things to think about PRIOR to our February chat:

  • Why is blogging a valuable tool for connecting and sharing global inquiries with a global audience?
  • What skills can students develop by sharing their learning with a global audience?
  • If you don’t have access to an NGO, (Non-Government Organization), where do you find collaboration opportunities? How can you find projects to join?
  • How can you create you OWN inquiry to share?
  • How do you fit it into EVERYTHING else you need to accomplish in a day?
  • How do you come up with “post” ideas for your blog?
  • What are some resources you use? Books? Sources of inspiration?
  • How do you address digital citizenship? Global citizenship? Online safety?
  • How do you attract readers to your classroom blog?

If you are interested in learning more about flattening YOUR walls and creating a global classroom for your students, you should DEFINITELY check out the Global Classroom Wiki and the Global Classroom Blog! This learning community is ALL about sharing and mentoring, and there are projects already on the go to help you get your feet wet or to continue to enrich you and your students’ learning journeys! TRUST me … once you START blogging with you students, connecting and learning WITH the world and no longer just ABOUT the world, you will NEVER look back!

After you’re done checking out THOSE awesome resources, mark the February #globalclassroom chat on your CALENDAR! See the times below … we’re looking forward to CONNECTING with you!

Chat 1 – Saturday – February 9th (10:00 GMT)

  • 10AM London, 3.30PM New Delhi, 6PM Perth, 9PM Sydney (AEDT), 11PM Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone. 

Chat 2 – Saturday – February 9th (19:00 GMT) 

  • 11AM Los Angeles, 2PM New York, 7PM London, 9PM Cape Town,
  • 8AM SUNDAY – Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

Chat 3 – Saturday – February 9th / Sunday – February 10th (02:00 GMT) 

  • Saturday night – 6PM Los Angeles, 9PM New York
  • Sunday – 7.30AM New Dehli, 10AM Perth, 1PM Sydney, 3PM Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone
Advertisements

2 thoughts on “KNOCK Those Classroom Walls DOWN!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s