Science, ICT, and the Global Classroom (March #globalclassroom Chats)

Later this year, I will be presenting the Dinner Keynote at the Western Australian Science Teachers’ Conference, exploring the topic: “Science, ICT and the Global Classroom: Exploring the Possibilities”.

And what a world of possibilities it is …

cc licensed ( BY NC SA ) flickr photo shared by ecstaticist

I”m looking for stories, examples, and classroom experiences of innovative science teaching around the world … which I can share during my conference presentation.

So, with this in mind, the March #globalclassroom chat will explore the key question:

“How can we transform Science education through the integration of ICT and real world connections?”

Some key topics for discussion:

  1. How can we encourage teachers and students to connect – with scientists, science educators, and online communities around the world?
  2. How can we engage, and capture our students’ interest in science?
  3. What advice would you give to teachers starting to explore the potential uses of ICT in Science education?
  4. How can you encourage students to communicate and share their learning in Science in new ways?
  5. How do you facilitate meaningful student collaboration in Science?


The Companion Google Doc

This month, we are also experimenting with a companion Google Doc. If you can’t come to the chat, or have some ideas that you’d like us to raise / share during the Twitter discussions, we’d greatly appreciate it if you add your responses to the chat questions here. Thank you!

If you have a few moments, could you help add a few words to my presentation Wordle?

Can you help moderate?

We are looking for innovative science teachers, both primary and secondary, to help co-moderate this month’s chats. If you’re interested, or know someone who might be, please contact @gcporganisers. Don’t worry! We will pair you up with an experienced moderator, and share our moderation guide 🙂

Chat Schedule

Chat 1 ~ Saturday, March 9th, 10:00 – 11:00 UTC

  • 10:00 London, 12:00 Cape Town, 15:30 New Delhi, 18:00 Perth, 21:00 Sydney (AEDT), 23:00 Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

Chat 2 ~ Saturday, March 9th, 19:00 – 20:00 UTC

  • 11:00 Los Angeles, 14:00 New York, 19:00 London, 21:00 Cape Town, 08:00 SUNDAY – Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

Chat 3 ~ Sunday, March 10th, 02:00 – 03:00 UTC (Saturday in N & S America!)

  • Saturday night – 18:00 Los Angeles, 21:00 New York
  • Sunday – 07:30 New Dehli, 10:00 Perth, 13:00 Sydney, 15:00 Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.
Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Science, ICT, and the Global Classroom (March #globalclassroom Chats)

    • As always your work inspires me (and many others)! Any possibility we could con you into co-moderating one of the chats?

      I’ll definitely be including a link in my presentation 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s