Design Thinking for Global Action (#globalclassroom chats Jan 17/18)

Source: British University of Columbia
Source: British University of Columbia

Topic

This month’s #globalclassroom chats come to us via @cerniglia and @Learn21Tech and will continue December’s discussion of global issues in the curriculum, and investigate how students can use design thinking to take global action.

Design Thinking is a thought process which involves students (and teachers) in identifying a problem or issue of importance to them, whether it be local or global, and following a problem solving process to design and implement possible solutions – i.e. taking direct action. For a more detailed explanation, we highly recommend visiting Design Thinking for Education, and downloading the Design Thinking Toolkit from Stanford University.

We are particularly interested in how teachers, students, and community members can collaborate across grades, disciplines, linguistic, geographic, and political boundaries to problem solve and develop innovative solutions for global issues.

Guiding Questions

  1. What global topics or issues do you currently study that lend themselves to interdisciplinary  or cross-curricular learning?  What boundaries could you open up that are not already open (discipline/grade/gender)?

  2. What global action projects have been most successful for you?  If not “global action,” have you had success with any project-based learning experiences? Do you have any projects or papers you would like to make more action-oriented?

  3. How do you inspire/motivate/encourage students’ creativity in your class? Do your assignments and feedback encourage them to “keep thinking” or “keep thinking until [they get it right/get it done]?”

  4. What personal experience do you have with design thinking? Have you applied this to global issues and global action?

  5. What curriculum-aligned global action would you like your students to take? How could you support them to use design-thinking to move towards this goal?

Schedule

Chat 1 ~ Saturday, January 18th, 10:00 – 11:00 UTC

  • 10:00 London, 12:00 (noon) Cape Town, 15:30 New Delhi, 18:00 Perth, 21:00 Sydney, 23:00 Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

Chat 2 ~ Saturday, January 18th, 18:00 – 19:00 UTC

  • 10:00 Los Angeles, 13:00 New York, 18:00 London, 20:00 Cape Town, 07:00 SUNDAY – Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

Chat 3 ~ Sunday, January 19th, 01:00 – 02:00 UTC (Saturday in N & S America!)

  • Saturday night – 17:00 Los Angeles, 20:00 New York
  • Sunday – 06:30 New Dehli, 09:00 Perth, 12:00 Sydney, 14:00 Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s