“Delving beyond the tip of the iceberg” #globalclassroom chats (Feb 22/23)

As global educators, we are faced with the challenge, and incredible opportunity, of rethinking how we teach and learn about other cultures, religions, and countries.

In the words of Australian blogger and inquiry educator Edna Sackson (@whatedsaid);  

“Culture is often compared to an iceberg which has both visible and invisible parts. The tip of the iceberg represents the elements of culture which we can see, such as food, language and customs. Those elements which are less obvious, such as values, beliefs and worldview, comprise the much larger portion of the iceberg underwater.”

… By starting with the human qualities, finding what we have in common, we can more easily relate to and connect with people of different cultures.

(June 13, 2010, Retrieved from http://whatedsaid.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/below-the-tip-of-the-iceberg/)

With the help of online technologies and education networks, it is now possible for teachers and students to connect, learn, share, and collaborate beyond their classroom walls. By building bridges through this ‘global classroom’, we can empower our students to delve beyond the traditional ‘meet n greet’ or ‘cultural exchanges; and start to develop meaningful personal relationships with other children around the world. We need to break the ice … and go beyond the tip of the iceberg. But, how?

And its time to return to this question in the February #globalclassroom chats.

Discussion Questions

1) How do we define culture? What aspects of culture are suitable for inquiry?

2) How do we start to build trust and relationships between international partners which endure over time?

3) What learning opportunities foster discussions about similarities and differences across cultures?

4) Can you provide examples (projects, blog posts) which demonstrate the power of delving beyond Flags, Food, and Festivals?

Times and Schedule

Join Michael Graffin for the 9:00 GMT  Keynote at the OZeLive Conference, immediately prior to #globalclassroom chat 1.

Chat 1 ~ Saturday, February 22nd, 10:00 – 11:00 UTC

  • 10:00 London, 12:00 (noon) Cape Town, 15:30 New Delhi, 18:00 Perth, 21:00 Sydney, 23:00 Auckland

  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

 

Chat 2 ~ Saturday, February 22nd, 18:00 – 19:00 UTC

  • 10:00 Los Angeles, 13:00 New York, 18:00 London, 20:00 Cape Town, 07:00 SUNDAY – Auckland

  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

 

Chat 3 ~ Sunday, February 23rd, 01:00 – 02:00 UTC (Saturday in N & S America!)

  • Saturday night – 17:00 Los Angeles, 20:00 New York

  • Sunday – 06:30 New Dehli, 09:00 Perth, 12:00 Sydney, 14:00 Auckland

  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s