#globalclassroom Chat: Art, Music, Global and More!

DSC_0707 - Version 2

The thought above, from Stough Elementary School’s art teacher Daniel James Kennington, sums things up perfectly! And this same sentiment can be applied to music, physical education, computer, language and any other resource class. For those of us who are passionate about making global education a priority and not simply a privilege, the goal is to make such teaching and learning accessible to all – all students and all teachers, through all subject areas.

Inspired by Daniel’s statement, the focus of this month’s #globalclassroom chat is global integration beyond the expected place – the social studies classroom. Let’s chat about how global concepts can be tied to curriculum standards in art, music, physical education, computer, and media classes.

So bring your thoughts, rally your specialist teachers, and join us for what is sure to be a chat full of wonderful global integration ideas!

Questions

Q1: Think about special/resource/elective classes. Why is #global integration important &/or valuable in these areas? #globalclassroom

Q2: How have you seen regular classroom Ts & specialist Ts working collaboratively on #global integration? #globalclassroom

Q3: How have you &/or colleagues integrated #global content into fine #arts & other special/resource/elective classes? #globalclassroom

Q4: What helpful resources have you found for #global integration in fine #arts & other special/resource/elective classes? #globalclassroom
Times

Based on past experience with the #globalclassroom chats, we are trialling an adjusted chat timetable, with two (rather than three) chats typically starting on the second or third Saturday of the month. The sharing and learning that comes from these discussions enriches our practice and the learning experiences of our students. We hope that you will join us!

Check below for the time that best fits with your zone:

Chat 1 ~ Saturday July 25, 2015

10:00 UTC (Europe/Asia/Australia)

  • 6:00 North Carolina, 11:00 London, 12:00 (noon) Cape Town, 15:30 New Delhi, 18:00 Perth, 20:00 Sydney, 22:00 Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

Chat 2: Saturday July 25, 2015

23:00 UTC (Americas/Asia/Australia).

  • Saturday night USA – 16:00 Los Angeles, 19:00 New York and North Carolina
  • Sunday morning – 07:00 Perth, 9:00 Sydney, 11:00 Auckland

Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s