“Ways to Bridge the Technological Divide” – April Chat Archives

The April #globalclassroom chats were an interesting affair, with our Sunday Asia / Europe chat being by far the liveliest. I was particularly interested in how the question was interpreted, as teachers shared the challenges they face in using & sharing technology – both in developing and developed countries.

A few favourite tweets

Brenda Hallowes ‏ (@bhallowes) –  We need to build relationships. If a colleague is technophobic all the more reason to build a trust relationships. #globalclassroom

Tasha Cowdy ‏ @tashacowdy – 3 yrs ago i hadnt heard of PLNs. I now cant imagine not flattening walls in my Kindergarten class. Change is afoot. #globalclassroom

Tibshirani ‏ (@rolat) – Technology is connecting us and enriching our learning as long as we are reflecting on learning #globalclassroom

Anne Mirtschin ‏(@murcha) – Small steps with technology often lead 2 best uptake. Flexibility / passion/using teachable moments lead to success #globalclassroom

Kelda Richards (@ElKel99)#globalclassroom it’s a shame some educated 1st world teachers won’t embrace tech – wasting a privileged position

And, in his own words, Jason Graham’s thoughts on his first #globalclassroom chat

In my first #globalclassroom experience, I was honoured to moderate such an interesting chat with such passionate educators from around the globe. I learned a lot and came away with some new ideas, different perspectives and new inquiries.

My big takeaway: If technology divides, what can be done to ensure technology connects?

How can we use technology to bridge the gap and lessen the divide between not only our colleagues next to us, but between those who have less access and opportunities to share and connect?

I look forward to the next #globalclassroom chat. Thanks to everyone for making me a better educator.

The Archives are Online

While we will be establishing an official #globalclassroom chat wiki in the next few weeks, the April 2012 archives are now available on our project wiki –

April 2012 Chat Archives

Please read, share and comment. Thanks! 🙂

Is technology connecting or dividing us? – April #globalclassroom chats

The April #globalclassroom chats are upon us, and this month’s question and discussion post comes to us courtesy of Jason Graham, an international teacher working in Indonesia.

In his own words, ….

Technology only empowers those who have access to it.

I’ve been struggling with this idea for some time now. It is an obvious statement.

I live in Indonesia, and work at a school and in community that values technology as a means to create and share knowledge. Has our technical world been taken for granted? I saw someone at the airport a few months ago upset that their wifi was too slow. The world seemed to be coming to an end for this individual.

First world problems indeed.

So is there really such a thing as a ‘Digital Native’?  Prensky thinks so. I am struggling with these questions:

  • Isn’t this just a term for the wealthiest of the world’s minority who have access to such technology? If so, are we are becoming more and more dependent on technology to seek and share information, are we alienating and widening the divide between those who have access to technology and those who do not?
  • Do we need to focus on those nations and peoples who lack means to share their knowledge, thoughts and ideas?
  • If we place such value on knowledge and the connections we make online, the question needs to be asked ‘Who aren’t we communicating with?’ and ‘Whose ideas are not being recognized and celebrated due to lack of opportunity reach a global audience?’.

This concerns me: ‘Who aren’t we communicating with’ and ‘Whose ideas are not being recognized and celebrated due to lack of opportunity reach a global audience?

Why?

Because I really value the connections I have made, cultivated from Twitter, blogs and other social networks. I enjoy learning from them, challenging them and being challenged.

I often wonder who am I NOT following that might make a significant impact on my thinking, my life? I wonder if those who lack means to technology can say the same? Or do they even think about this when wondering when and where your next meal is coming from trumps everything.

What do you think?

We hope you will join us as we discuss this issue during the April #globalclassroom Twitter chats, which begin this weekend. Please see the schedule to find out when they run in your timezone!

 

Chat Details – April 2012

Saturday, April 14 – USA, Europe, Africa  (6PM GMT)

** We hope that this time change will help teachers in Europe & Africa participate in the #globalclassroom chats. 

  • 2PM EDT (New York), 7PM London, 8PM Cape Town, 9PM Bucharest. 
  • Or click here to find out when this chat runs in your timezone.

Sunday, April 15 – Asia / Europe ( 9AM GMT)

Monday / Tuesday April 16 / 17 (10PM GMT)

  • 5PM New York, 11PM London – Monday
  • 6AM Hong Kong, 9AM Sydney, 11AM Auckland – Tuesday
  • OR click here to find out when this chat runs in your timezone

Can you help?

We are always keen to recruit new chat moderators, and would love suggestions for future chat topics. Please tweet @mgraffin if interested.

We sincerely appreciate your support!